. . .

Home Page

. . . . . .



The meeting was called to order by President Richard Berman at 3:45 P.M.

Secretary Loren Myhill called the role of Rep. Council members to establish a quorum for voting and the legal conduct of business.

Copies of the minutes from the April 2nd meeting were available for review as well as on the website. Minutes were approved as presented.

Treasurer Pat Elliott presented the treasurer's report which was approved as presented.

President's Report: OCSEA Uniserve has been approved by CTA and will become effective September 1, 2012.

Negotiations Update: The MOU for PCHS summer session has been approved by the Rep. Council through online voting. The stipend will be $3000.00 and HR will send out an email announcing the opportunity to sign up through the "Sign-up-Genius" online program. Any interested teachers will be accepted on a first come first served basis until all positions are filled. The IBPST has also come to an agreement on the Special Education language dealing with workloads. Richard pointed out that the language will not be part of the contract until the entire new contract is ratified.

The Department has also brought up a concern about changing the use of the duty free lunch period without proper mutual agreement between teachers and administrators. There is no plan to change any language, but all teachers must be careful to get agreement with their administrator for any and all changes in their work schedule even if it is only for a few minutes of any day. This is as easy as a simple phone call in most cases, but it is still required by our contract. This can be found in Article 10.4.7 on page 36 and 37 of the current Agreement

Discussions on the cost and coverage of health benefit for the next year are continuing. Presented data shows that the Department can afford up to seven per cent increase in total compensation for teachers, but since classified always gets what teachers get the issue may take all of the additional bargaining sessions for resolution. We are asking for the Department to give definitions for new programs like CORE, FIRE, hybrid classrooms, double sessions etc., so that we can bargain teachers working conditions.

The Department claims that they plan to let us know by July first about the new Vice-Principal position. Also, rumor has it that Mary Lou Vachet will likely become the program Administrator for a new AU that includes Sunburst, CORE, FIRE, and related programs, and no longer will be the administrator at Harbor Learning Center. However, nothing is official as of now.

Summer CTA conferences are coming up. President's and Summer Institute information is available online. Mary Jane Roberts moved and Julie Ames seconded that we send the president and vice-president to the President's Conference. Motion carried. John Wells moved that we send up to ten people to the Summer Institute. Marcia Garten second. Motion carried.

State Council elections committee: Barbara Haddad, Pat Elliott, Cheryl Stoltz, Tom Rotunno, Julie Ames, Joel Harrison. John Wells moved that we accept these people, Julie Ames seconded and the motion carried. Mary Jane Roberts moved and John Wells seconded that we approve all expenses for the cost of running this election. This will be a paper ballot election. The motion carried. Richard reviewed the timeline for the election. Ballots for voting will be mailed May 15th and must be received by five o'clock May 31st to be counted on June 1st at Harbor Learning Center beginning at 5:15 PM. Anyone that prefers voting in person may do so between 2 and 5 PM on 6/01/2012 in room E102 at Harbor Learning Center located at 15872 Harbor Blvd. in Fountain Valley. Phone: 714-245-6678.

Loren Myhill will publish to all Council Members their Rep. Council meeting attendance record so that any challenges can be addressed and reimbursement checks presented at the June meeting.

Officer transition meetings are in the planning stages. Richard Berman will be having John Wells attend the monthly meetings with Nina Boyd and Sandra Hall beginning in June.

OCSEA Executive Officer Election Results:

The Election Committee met at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, April 16, 2012, to count the ballotsfor the OCSEA Board Officer Election for the term beginning July 1, 2012 and ending June 30, 2014.

The results are as follows:


Mary Jane Roberts 55 online, 2 paper ballots

John Wells 74 online, 5 paper ballots Candidate elected

Write-in: Keith Laszlo 4 online


Lewis Lester 48 online, 2 paper ballots

Loren Myhill 73 online, 5 paper ballots Candidate elected

Write-in: Chris Hall 1 online

Write-in: Eric Hudson 2 online

Write-in: If MJ doesn't Get President Mary Jane Roberts 1 online

Write-in: Lisa Locke 1 online

Write-in: Martin Juarez 1 online


Chris Off 119 online, 7 paper ballots Candidate elected

Write-in:John Hall 1 online

Write-in: Judy Walsh 1 online

Write-in: Peggy Mcintosh 1 online


Marcia Garten 115 online, 6 paper ballots Candidate elected

Write-in: Chris Hall 1 online

Write-in: Dave Glick 1 online

Write-in on paper ballot: M. Martinez

Election Committeemembers in attendance: P. Elliott, T. Rotunno, J. Harrison

Official positions begin July first.

A formal challenge of the election was filed with the committee and all candidates have been notified. The allegations and report from the committee have been sent to the Rep. Council. Since not a large enough number of Rep. Council members not on the committee (required quorum) was present to decide on the recommendation, the report will go the CTA President who will request that the CTA Elections Committee review for a ruling. The ruling will be sent back within 30 days. The elected officers will still take over on July 1, 2012 and will serve until any changes may be forthcoming. After all effected members recused themselves from the meeting, Richard Berman answered questions from the remaining members who were present and not on either the ballot nor the Elections Committee.

Meeting adjourned at 5:13 PM.

The next meeting will be June 4, 2012.